Twitter users are now able to “lock” their accounts to restrict who can interact with them.
Users can do this by clicking on the “lock all” icon and setting their status to “inactivity” or “active.”
Inactivity means the account is not active.
Inactive accounts have been known to be active in certain contexts.
For instance, a Twitter account can be in the process of retweeting a tweet, but that tweet is blocked by the Twitter service for a period of time.
The social media company said the lock feature will only be available in the United States and Canada for a limited time.
Twitter said it will offer a similar lock option to those in Europe in the future.